February 17, 2018

Today was a great day... I think! I slept for around 9 hours, then went to hot pot with my mom by taking the bus. I love spending time with my mom, it's a gift since I'm alone here at school 99% of the time... The hot pot was delicious. I love the sauce you can make for your food. My only complaint? They were out of peanut sauce, but the satay sauce made up for it... Very spicy and had some soy milk with it. Have to thank my friend Christy for that... Chinese soy milk is great!

We went to Stanley Park after eating. Had to switch buses halfway and a fun experience nonetheless. We walked around the entire park (well...almost), and the wind was really strong so I was tearing up most of the time. The ocean was beautiful and got some nice pictures... I will upload them to this post when I have the time. Saw an interesting rock called "Siwash Rock", and there was a bittersweet plaque on it denoting somebody's death. They dived at low tide and you could imagine how that went... RIP! The whole experience gave me great exercise. Went home afterwards..

I forgot to mention that yesterday we found out my grandfather had a blood clot in the brain... aka stroke... the same happened with my grandfather on my dad's side of the family... Everyone's OK but it still makes me worried... I hope things clear up soon. Same with my dad, I hope he is doing well...

Since I have some time, I'll also write about some ditzy things... Thought a lot about one of my characters today. His name is Alex, he's got a long and torrid storyline with one of my other characters named Weston. Anyways, I am putting Alex through a lot in his story... The one I should write down, but prefer playing in my head. He's the star of my homepage! Right in that little GIF. Anyways, the guy is dealing with a lot of issues right now... Boyfriend who's turned out to be a total d*ck after he went to college and joined a frat, his brother being a weirdo... I wonder about him... He's had a difficult past life, was adopted by my character named Riley (who is very conscientious and a great person overall!), and so I don't want to make him a character who is flat, or just defined by his trauma. I want to make him a true person. Someone realistic and not a trope... On that note, he really likes using the old computer they have down in the basement of Riley's home. Same with the old TV and VCR player. Yes, they are really behind in that town called Marilin. Alex uses one of those old flip phones, while Riley can't give up his advanced ways from Jamestown and uses a smartphone. I need to write about them..

I also want to make a zine. I think I'll make it text based since PDF or Canva based magazines are a little hard for me to work around. I might end up making it a PDF later on, no guarantees. I would like to experiment with the zine and use it to upload random thoughts + pictures. Bits on my characters and their stories. Little interesting project, just like this site...

I am thankful for: